{Styling Inspiration}: Photography lessons I learnt from big ads to style my indie products

Styling Inspiration - Yaansoon blogTo take photos of my handmade products, as an indie maker, I felt like I needed to get some inspiration from  corporate product photo shoots that attracted my attention. By seeing which elements I liked best about different photo compositions, I was able to come up with my own styling ideas for Yaansoon.

Here are a few ads and product photos that I have pinned recently. My Pinterest board Indie | Styling has a lot of images that inspire our styling work here at Yaansoon. These images have helped us hone our photography style {as well as our packaging} for Yaansoon.

Free People Styling Inspiration

  • Shabby Chic: This is a Free People photo of their pearl jewelry collection.
  • Styling Inspiration: What I like about this photo is the off-white background, and the lighter-toned foreground. This inspired me to use off-white packaging tags that carry Yaansoon’s objects and trinkets.
  • Image Credit: freepeople.com via Yaansoon on Pinterest
Chobani Kitchen 'Just Add Good' by Leo Burnett New York , via Behance
  • Rustic/Culinary: Above is an ad by Leo Burnett New York, one of the biggest names in the advertising world. The client they created this ad for is Chobani yogurt. I loved all their ads, which you can find here.
  • Styling Inspiration: Again, this ad, in comparison with other Chobani ads, has an off-white-ish background. This ad in particular has a lot of light, and shows off the elements in a fresh way. I used an off-white background for almost all my photo shoots for Yaansoon’s products, it worked much better for me than using a plain white background.
  • Image Credit: behance.net via Yaansoon on Pinterest

Vintage Clothing for Women at Free People

  • Vintage/Rustic: Above is another Free People photo of their brass jewelry collection.
  • Styling Inspiration: Although the background is too dark to work with for my indie products, I like the composition of this online inspiration photo. The jewelry items can be individually seen, however, they are not put together in a boring fashion. They’re almost casually sitting there, but not in a cluttered manner. This inspired some of the photos I took for some of Yaansoon’s handmade jewelry.
  • Image Credit: freepeople.com via Yaansoon on Pinterest

Vintage Clothing for Women at Free People

  • Vintage/Boho: Again here is another Free People photo of vintage bottles.
  • Styling Inspiration: What I like here is the fact there is not much “contrast” in the photo, and there is a lot of shadow as well as muted, vintage-y colors. This actually inspired my photo editing process. I used to use too much “contrast” and “exposure,” as a self-taught Photoshop user. Seeing these photos, I was finally at peace with shadow and a bit of darkness in the photos I produced.
  • Image Credit: freepeople.com via Yaansoon on Pinterest

…………………………………………………….

The photo on the left in this post’s intro is from a Chobani yogurt ad, created by Leo Burnett New York. The photo is via Behance, or you can see it here in my Pinterest board.

Chobani Kitchen 'Just Add Good' by Leo Burnett New York , via BehanceImage Credit: behance.net via Yaansoon on Pinterest

…………………………………………………….

 

3 thoughts on “{Styling Inspiration}: Photography lessons I learnt from big ads to style my indie products

LEAVE A COMMENT

