The Real Bread: What it Once Was

Handmade sourdough bread #organicItaly is home to hundreds of ‘artisan breads’ made from a homemade slow yeast (not the supermarket-bought yeast). My husband is an expert bread maker. This is his first-ever post on our blog and it’s about his passion for organic handmade bread.

I like the homemade bread made with sourdough (also called mother’s yeast); I have always been fascinated by the way this bread is made, so I decided to make it at home. I started with a recipe for sourdough found on the internet, with explanations from a skilled baker.

The Starter - Vimeo 2I wanted to make bread as it was made in old times, with the materials and methods handed down for generations in different areas of Italy. I used organic whole wheat flour (that consisted of both durum wheat and soft wheat) and that was stone-ground. I also used spring water that I took regularly from the various natural springs during my tours in the mountains of Abruzzo.

bread-grain-kitchen-bakery_2Even the salt was integral and handpicked, from the salt mine in Sicily. After several attempts, I managed to make bread the way I wanted, and guarded it in a cotton cloth in a wooden box. It was really yummy; it was enough to open the box to smell the bread even after a week. It is a tasty bread made with natural ingredients only. Since then I never missed the “real bread” in my house. It was not only delicious and healthy, but it made me feel connected to a know-how and an ancient tradition that was about to disappear.

A view of Barrea lake in Abruzzo, Italy
A view of Barrea lake in Abruzzo, Italy

This post was written in Italian and translated to English. The original Italian text will be posted on this blog in the near future, as we are introducing Italian content to our blog.

UPDATE:

The Italian post can be found in post dubbed, Il pane vero: quello di una volta

7 thoughts on “The Real Bread: What it Once Was

  1. I was converted to sourdough baking a couple of years ago, and the taste and texture were a revelation. I still make quicker breads with store-bought yeast from time to time, but it’s spoiled me for store-bought bread.

    Like

    1. I agree, it is a revelation! I didn’t know sourdough existed until I met my husband – and with kind of rustic culinary sense came an exploration of a different kind of life, that was more organic and beautiful than the one I had before.

      Like

LEAVE A COMMENT

