YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand and with Pencil

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By Yaansoon

Recently I’ve been having a strong urge to work with watercolor and paper, and to create something handmade and tangible! So far I have been creating designs and illustrations digitally, using a tablet to pencil down my freehand lines. I miss working with my hands, especially that I started out as a handcrafts designer-maker before taking a detour towards illustration and surface design. This time-lapse video is dubbed “Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil,” and it’s for one of my first attempts in watercolor.

I’m relatively new to watercolor illustration, which I’m beginning to fall in love with. In this video, I’m using a vintage watercolor pan set by Pelikan, called “Deckfarbkasten Super 24.”

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonI have had this German-made set for a long time now. My aunt, who is a fine artist, bought it for me when I was around 9 years old for a school project I was working on at the time.

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonI’m using affordable, natural-hair watercolor brushes by Frensh department store, Carrefour. The brushes are in No. 8 and No. 2. These aren’t professional-grade brushes, but I like them much better than my other synthetic ones.

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonI come from a family of artists – on my mother’s side. Watercolor-filled dishes and palettes, ink bottles, oil color tubes, brushes, and strong aromas emanating from flaxseed oil (which is used as a painting medium), used to be a daily scene in my childhood. These were always stacked against gallery walls in rooms my aunts and uncles used as studios-slash-living rooms or bedrooms.

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonWhen I was a teenager and as a young woman in my early twenties, I used to hate watercolor. I used to have a strong bohemian taste, and loved strong, rich and opaque colors – found in kilims, folk arts, and handcrafted items.

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonBut now, I am starting to appreciate the transparent quality of watercolor. I think this is because I have been moving towards a more minimalist aesthetic, and my bohemian taste has been tamed and transformed in so many ways over the past few years.

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonStarting out as a designer-maker a couple of years ago has given me the chance to work with natural fabrics, copper wire, and other natural mediums. I think this has helped tone down my busy, bohemian style and has made me more appreciative of other less opaque forms of art.

YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand & with Pencil | By YaansoonI had great fun making this video, and I hope you will enjoy it too. Thank you for stopping by and hope to see you again soon!

Yaansoon hand-illustrated branding and patterns

 

3 thoughts on “YouTube Video | Botanical Watercolor Illustration: Freehand and with Pencil

    1. This would sound naive, but since I was the only one in my class to have this set, I thought I was the only kid in the world to have it :) Glad I got to learn otherwise! And thanks re the result; still experimenting!

      Liked by 1 person

LEAVE A COMMENT

