Food Illustration: Artisanal Sourdough Bread the Italian Way

Food Illustration: Artisanal Sourdough Bread the Italian Way | By Yaansoon Illustration

One of the culinary pleasures of traditional Italian food comes in the form of sourdough bread. The first time my husband baked a loaf made from homemade and natural slow yeast (also called mother’s yeast), my taste buds were introduced to a whole new world of textures and flavours. I created this illustration with a minimalist feel to try and capture the essence of artisanal bread and what it stands for.

Food that isn’t over-processed and that keeps the integrity of its ingredients has a distinct taste, as if it belonged to a pristine corner of Heaven!

My husband wrote a post in Italian (with an English translation) for this blog sometime mid last year, to describe his experience in making his first-ever sourdough bread. I have learnt a lot from his approach to food, which is influenced by the fact he is an Italian with a strong interest in the traditional culinary arts of Italy.

Italians believe ingredients play a substantial role in the gastronomic experience of foodies. They cook to maximize the ingredients, not to dilute them under a heavy blanket of spices or harsh cooking methods. They also like fresh, raw, and natural ingredients over canned or processed foods.

I wanted to capture all of this in one illustration that could make the viewer sense the light and breezy essence of Italian artisanal bread, hence the illustration above.

My hope is that one day I will be able to create a whole set of illustrations for an Italian food cookbook maybe, so I can introduce more of this kind of imagery to my portfolio.

I do hope you liked today’s quick post, and I look forward to seeing you again soon in a new illustrated post!

Yaansoon hand-illustrated branding and patterns

 

2 thoughts on “Food Illustration: Artisanal Sourdough Bread the Italian Way

LEAVE A COMMENT

