Watercolor Illustration: Orange Blossom Water

Watercolor Illustration: Orange Blossom Water from Anjar, Lebanon | By Yaansoon Illustration

Orange Blossom Water reminds me a lot of my grandmother, who used to give us a small cup of this bitter-sweet liquid whenever we had an aching tummy. I have a bottle of this aromatic water in my pantry. Marveling at its vintage shape, today seemed the perfect day to create an illustration inspired by one of my childhood’s memories.

Orange Blossom Water (eau de fleur d’oranger in French, and Ma Zaher in Arabic) is one of Lebanon’s famous culinary creations. It is used to scent locally-made Baklawa (aka Baklava), sweet syrups, pastries, ice creams, and puddings.

 

Watercolor Illustration: Orange Blossom Water | By Yaansoon Illustration

This particular bottle is made in Anjar, a small town located in the Bekaa’ Valley in Lebanon. I once saw a documentary about the making of Ma Zaher and the location of the distillery was up in the mountain somewhere in Lebanon. So it seems Ma Zaher is distilled in more than one location in this beautiful Mediterranean country. But I have a nagging feeling that one particular town is famous for it; I’ll try to find out more about that and will fill you in!

Watercolor Illustration: Orange Blossom Water | By Yaansoon Illustration

Orange Blossom Water for Beauty

Ma Zaher is distilled from the petals of orange blossoms. It has so many uses including as a beauty toner for your skin. Just add a dab of this lovely aromatic liquid to a cotton ball to freshen up your face.

Just a quick note before I go; the colour palette in my illustration is quite different from the colours of the original bottle. I thought I’d add a summery twist to it.

Well, folks, thanks for stopping by and looking forward to seeing you in my next post!

Yaansoon - branding - NewID- WATERCOLOR LOGO-3

 

Save

4 thoughts on “Watercolor Illustration: Orange Blossom Water

LEAVE A COMMENT

